Somebody get me a wooby!

A few months ago, a calf strain stole my mojo.

I vowed to get it back and did.  I rested my leg for about 3 full weeks and “recovered” from the injury, or so I thought.

Over the past couple of months, my mojo and I were very happy.  We slowly got back into training for my first Boston Marathon (April 16) and  set a new 10k PR in the only race we did together. Things were looking up.

Then yesterday came. I felt a minor twinge in the same left calf muscle. I brushed it off. Then I went to see my physical therapist, Dr. Missy Holas at C.O.R.E. Elite in ATL. She said she could feel/see the issue and treated it with some Graston Technique massage. Neither of us seemed to think it was a big deal.

Wrong. Just one mile into my SLOW morning run today, it became a big deal. The calf completely tightened up on me. I stopped immediately, walked home, got a bag full of ice and sat with my calf elevated on it for about 30 minutes. I squeezed into my CEP Compression socks and continued on with my day.

I’m currently looking into scheduling ART massage and hope to get back on the road to Boston soon.  To say I’m frustrated is an understatement. However, I’m going to keep a positive attitude and make sure I’m ready to go when I reach Hopkinton.  I might end up being a bit undertrained when I get there, but I don’t like to make excuses.

Injury or not, Boston is going to be a good day.

Until then, I’m feeling a bit like Kenny from Mr. Mom when his “wooby” was taken away from him by Michael Keaton.  “Can I have a moment to myself, please?”

4 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

4 responses to “Somebody get me a wooby!

  1. I ran my first Boston last year with plantar fasciitis, a neuroma, and a stress reaction that all started right about this time. I swam and biked leading up, and swore I wouldn’t let it ruin my day. To say that Boston was perfect would be a lie, and to say that I wish I had been better trained would be a huge understatement. And though it may have been stupid to risk further injury by running it every single painful step of the 26.2 miles was worth it.

    • Thanks Arielle. Oh, I’m quite sure it will be worth it! However, I had dreams of CRUSHING it and possibly going sub-3. Sigh… I’m not giving up hope though.

      • I did not crush Boston, at all.

        But I’m sure you will!!! 🙂

        I just got diagnosed with a stress fracture today, ironically. But I will still crush Ironman Canada in August. 🙂

  2. Hang in there Mike – the journey to the starting line sometimes is a lot tougher than the one to the finish line. You are doing all the right things – Hopkinton awaits. Just do what you can to get back 100%. That is more important than mileage right now.

Leave a Reply

