Work, Run, Work, Run, Work, Run….

It has been a long time since I have been able to post something. Work has been a tad bit crazy busy since a certain Florida resident decided to drive his Cadillac into a fire hydrant.

Thankfully, despite the craziness, I have been able to keep up with my runs and am currently 45 miles into the Dailymile.com “80 Miles in December Challenge”. It’s a fun challenge, especially since I have a neighbor also doing it. We push each other along. It would be easy to skip a few days when the temperature drops, but when you see that somebody else managed to roll out of bed, throw on a few layers and hit the road for a few miles, you find that the excuses are harder to come by.

To backtrack a little, they finally posted the results from the Run For Justice 5k I ran back on Nov. 14. I got beat by a guy named Ben Johnson!

Coming up this weekend, is the Lifetime Fitness Reindeer Run 5K. Depending on the course and my energy level, I might try to break  the 20-minute mark. My 5K PR is 20:12. We’ll see how it goes.

But what I’m really excited about is a relay race an old high school friend invited me to compete in with him in April. It’s the Southern Blue Relay near Asheville, N.C. I have never done a relay before, so it should be “fun”… maybe. A team of six guys, running 200 miles (that’s an average of 33.3 miles per runner). It should take between 23 – 34 hours depending on the pace.  It’s a bit crazy, but should be an incredible challenge.

Ok, now it’s time to get back to work!

Leave a comment

Filed under Marathon

Leave a Reply

