Takin' it easy…

Before I head up to New York, I decided to blow off a little steam this week and went to see the “Hottest Band in the Land…KISS!”

kissWhether you like their music or not, the spectacle of a Kiss concert is SO worth it. The last time I saw Kiss was about 10 years ago at Madison Square Garden, appropriately enough. The amount of smoke, fire and blood that comes with a Kiss concert is unparalleled.

gene
kiss1

stage

gene1

confettiAs for running this week, I have yet to run since Saturday! I’m not crazy about such a long layoff, but I really want to take it as easy as possible.  I plan to do 3-4 miles before I head up to Gotham for the weekend. Once there, I will likely just do an easy 2 miles on Saturday morning.

One thing is for certain, the nerves are starting to kick in. My kids are super-excited for the trip. My dad, brother, sister and other family and friends will be coming into the city from Brooklyn, New Jersey and Philadelphia. So it should be GREAT!

The weather is supposed to be in the mid-50s with only a 20 percent chance of rain. (fingers crossed)

Also, this week I surpassed my goal of raising $1,000 for the Lance Armstrong Foundation. It’s not a huge amount, but I got a bit of a late start on it, so I’m pleased that I was able to hit my target. My company will match the final total, which is an awesome gesture.

And lastly… this is the single best tip I got from a friend who has run in the race. “If it’s windy, stay in the middle of the Verrazano Bridge so you don’t get hit with pee coming from the upper deck while waiting for it to start.”  Now THOSE are words to live by!

1 Comment

Filed under Marathon

One response to “Takin' it easy…

  1. mom

    good luck Iam very proud of you Love Mom

Leave a Reply

