Recovering Quicker

A quick flashback:

Before I went on my 22-miler on Saturday, I forgot to mention that I did a short 4-miler a few days earlier. There wasn’t anything too special about the run, other than the fact that it took place in an absolute downpour. If you scroll down here, you will see when it rain the hardest on Oct. 7: about 8 a.m. (which is exactly when I started my run!)

rain

I might have looked crazy to my neighbors for running in the rain, but I had a blast. (my wife would later tell me that she was secretly laughing while inside the comfort of our house.)  The way I look at it, she missed all the fun.

Flash forward to today… three days after running the 22-miler, I completed a marathon (sort of) with a quick 4-miler around the ‘hood. That’s 26 miles… who cares if it was spread out over several days!

My legs were weak, tired and still a little sore. I took it very slow and steady for the first 2.5 miles. But after cresting the top of the hill just outside my neighborhood, I got new life and kicked into high gear. Note to self: Make sure “Shoot to Thrill” by AC/DC is on marathon playlist.

Over the final 1.5 miles, I managed to ignore the pain and run at about a 7 min/mile pace.  This was actually the first time in a long time I felt that I was able to take my normal full stride on a short run so quickly after a long weekend run. Typically, it has taken me 4-5 days to feel 100%.  I’ve got to think that this is a result of the compression socks and ice bath.

I ended the run feeling good about my progress. For good measure, I left my compression socks on for a few hours and went to work.

Leave a comment

Filed under Marathon

Leave a Reply

