12 Miles and Feeling Mediocre

After running just one 4-miler in the past two weeks, I still decided to go ahead with a 12-miler over the weekend. It was a tough decision, but I knew I needed to do it to get myself back in long-distance shape.

According to my original schedule, I was supposed to do my first 20-miler this weekend, but that didn’t seem like the best idea, considering my two-week layoff.

I kept a steady, controlled pace, which certainly helped. But I paid for it the next day. My calf muscles were REALLY tight. I really need to find time to get a deep tissue massage. There never seem to be enough hours in the day for a good massage!  Story of my life…

I plan to stick with my plan of running only three days a week up until the marathon. Endurance-wise, completing the distance shouldn’t be a problem. I just REALLY need to make sure I don’t get hurt between now and then.

This coming Sunday, I am running in the 13.1 Atlanta half marathon with several people form my neighborhood. Should be a fun time.

Oh, and on a completely unrelated note…  the night before my 12-miler, I went to see Here We Go Magic – a band I knew nothing about other than the fact that an old high school friend, Jen Turner, played guitar with the band. (Her dad was my hockey coach when I was a freshman.)

The band played what she called “experimental” music in a free-flow Pink Floyd sort of style. It wasn’t the type of music I listen to all the time these days, but I liked it.

Here’s one of the band’s songs —
— which I think will actually be good for long-distance runs.

I hadn’t really followed Jen’s career very much, but I did know that she had done some cool things with some other bands throughout her career. She played a bit with Lenny Kravitz and had her own band – Furslide – for a while. But perhaps, most notably to mainstream music fans is her kick-ass guitar on “Wonder” by Natalie Merchant. On this track, her guitar playing is almost as synonymous as Merchant’s vocals. Here she is on Saturday Night Live.

Leave a comment

Filed under Marathon

Leave a Reply

