Good News… sort of

A very quick update on my bothersome left leg.

tendon X-rays were negative and didn’t show any stress fractures. That doesn’t necessarily mean I don’t have one, it’s just not an obvious one. A more in-depth bone scan could show that I have one, but for now Dr. Julien wants to treat it as Posterior Tibial Tendinitis.

He has run the NYC Marathon 9 times, including once with a stress fracture.  Clearly, I have come to see the right man.

tendon1When I told him that I am running it for the first time, he didn’t want to do the bone scan out of fear that it could put an end to my quest. He basically told me that if I can stand the pain, to continue training. The biggest indicator in my favor is that my leg pain doesn’t get worse when I’m running.

However, he gave me a list of 4 things to do to take care of my leg.

1. Stretch

2. Get new arch-supporting insoles for my shoes (which he provided)

superfeet1superfeet

3. Ice my leg for 15-20 minutes every night.

4. Go to see a sports massage therapist every 2 weeks.

Of those four things, he said the most important one is the massage. It’s a deep tissue massage and will really get at the tendonitis, he said.  I just won’t be able to do a long run after the massage because it will HURT, he said.

I also need to get new running shoes very soon.

The good doctor also told me that I can now start to cut back on my training. Instead of 5 days a week, I can probably just do 4 days a week. I wish I didn’t have the pain to deal with, but this is the best news I could have hoped for at the moment.

Oh, and one other thing, Dr. Julien also lives a double life as a photographer and has been shooting fashion and music since the 70s. He has a great Website. Have a look.

I’m off and running again tomorrow. 4 miles.

1 Comment

Filed under Marathon

One response to “Good News… sort of

  1. mom

    Hi Mike, it sounds like you have a good Dr. take care of your self.I leave for Hi on Sat. Love to all call me if you have time, Mom

Leave a Reply

