Dearly Beloved, We Are Gathered Here Today…

minnesota

My first 4-miler of the week in Minnesota panned out quite nicely, actually. There was not much traffic along the route and I enjoyed some very cool temps for a change. High 60s with very low humidity made for a nice easy run at 6:30 am.

The only drawback to the run was the fact that my left calf continues to bother me. After tomorrow’s 4-miler, I plan to ice it down for at least 20 minutes. If that doesnt’ help, I might take Thursday off, so I can have two days of rest before Saturday’s 15-miler. I REALLY don’t want to be hurting too badly before and after it.

princeIf only I could find a way to track down Minneapolis legend (The Artist Formerly Known as) Prince for some advice.

He seems to keep himself in tip top shape. In lieu of finding him, I plan to drink some Purple Rain Gatorade.

Seeing as Prince was unavailable to consult with, I spoke with a colleague in town for the week who is also training for the NYC marathon. She has 14 miles scheduled for Saturday morning and has a marathon-running friend who lives in Minneapolis. We’re both hoping that he has some good advice for a good local place for a long run. This is the land of 10,000 lakes, after all, so there has to be a nice scenic area close by.

Oh, and I also managed to spend a few minutes in the Mall of America tonight. While inside the monstrosity, I  located home plate from the old Metropolitan Stadium.

plate

It’s right near the entrance to the Spongebob Squarepants roller coaster ride. Classic stuff!

nickplate

After grabbing a quick bite to eat in the mall, I found my way to a nearby Rainbow Grocery store (never heard of the chain before in my life), and grabbed some granola bars, bananas and some new Nature Valley nut clusters to snack on during the day.

nuts

Grocery shopping in Minnesota is not all that exciting. But at least there’s less humidity.

1 Comment

Filed under Marathon

One response to “Dearly Beloved, We Are Gathered Here Today…

  1. mom

    i will have to look for some of the nut clusters. Ihope your leg gets better.

    Love Mom

Leave a Reply

